Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Full version here: https://knowledge.figshare.com/articles/item/how-to-edit-or-delete-my-data

Step-by-step 

(info) changes to most of the metadata fields or to any file(s) in the dataset will trigger a new version (see below). 

  1. To edit a public item head to My data, hover over the item you want to edit, and click on the edit pen that appears next to the size. The metadata editing form will then come up.

  2. To replace or change a file, you will need to first delete the file, and then upload a new one. 

    (warning) deleting the file does not permanently delete it!! The original file will always be available as a version (see below)

  3. At the top of the editing window, to the right of the filename, click the X to delete the file.
  4. Drag and drop the replacement file into the editing window.


(error) only unpublished items may be completely deleted (both metadata and files)

When files or metadata are deleted from a published item, it will simply trigger a new version. The deleted files or metadata will still be publicly available by viewing the earlier version.

Versioning

see Figshare Knowledgebase for a more about versioning.

Versions are triggered by:

  • Title edits/changes
  • Add/edit/remove an Author
  • Add/Remove files
  • Change files from private to shared
  • Add files to metadata only records
  • Replace the link in a link-only item
  • automatic syncing of a Github repo when there is a new release
  • manual syncing of a Github repo to update the files

Each version has their own DOI and can be cited independently.
The version DOI is created from the base DOI with the addition of a v<n> suffix, where n is the version number. 
All the (versioning) rules will apply if the items are going through a curation process. The only difference is that new versions or updates to existing versions are created only when the request is approved. 


Each version may be cited separately, and will include the metadata that was present at the time the version was published, e.g., if an author was added, the original version won't contain that author name. If a file is "deleted" it will always be available in the version when it was published.